Getting Rich from Writing

image

“If you want to get rich from writing, write the sort of thing that’s read by persons who move their lips when they’ree reading to themselves.”- Don Marquis

 

Once I was asked by Guna, a close friend of mine at work, “I want to write but don’t know how to start.” And another request is from a fellow yogi who happened to find it difficult to pour her thoughts into words. A piece of advice I gave them is surprisingly like this. Just write like you talk or explain things to someone else, I advised. It may sound hassle free for pros but yeah I think that is how good way of writing is explained. It is not a one-size-fits-all rule but mostly applies in any cases. And Don Marquis quite hit the bull’s eye when he stated that. Writing should be flowing in such a natural way like we talk, chat, converse. It should convey the most complex ideas with the simplest structures and lexicon. Often times that is how I begin writing in fact. I listen to private chats. I overhear heart to heart conversations. I intercepted small talks between coworkers, family members, employers and employees, and …voila! I am suddenly inundated with materials to get written. So when you start with listening a lot, you will find it easier to write naturally, which to most readers is more appealing than any other methods. Are you ready to listen and write now?

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 Comments

Filed under writing

2 responses to “Getting Rich from Writing

  1. Lin

    great advice! thanks for sharing🙂

Leave a Reply

