A Hobbyist Yogi’s Rants

‎It’s confusing for me to answer questions like:”How long did it take you to master this pose or that pose?” or “Can you now do pose X or pose Y?” or “How’s the progress of your practice? Do you manage to do the advanced options now that you have mastered the basic?” ‎
I came to yoga as a pure hobbyist so the idea that we must master certain poses or techniques in a specified amount of time is way beyond my ken. Why should I approach yoga like a mission to accomplish, enemy to conquer or a problem to tackle? I simply want to enjoy the journey without much burden or expectation. I want to be like the nature, it never hastes yet everything is accomplished. If you aim right, you’ll get there anyhow.

I don’t know about you, but that’s my approach to yoga, which I fully understand will never fit anyone’s needs especially those who plan to go professional (read: to earn a living by doing and teaching yoga).‎

Leave a comment

Filed under yoga

Leave a Reply

