#Yoga Is Not Your Hiding Place from Reality

‎”Some people might think that by practicing Yoga you’re running away from the world and are not going to enjoy anything. But yogis are the people who are going to enjoy everything. Because when you’re the master of your life, you’re not controlled by anything and you can enjoy everything. This is the aim of Yoga.” – Swami Satchidananda

I stumbled upon the gorgeously arranged string of words on a fellow yogi’s Instagram feed. So though some people think social media is full of prentention, it can be filled with true wisdom, too.

It reminded me of a friend who complained right after he was on board, flying to Jakarta after his amazing yoga retreat in Bali. “Back to the real world, guys! Wish I could stay longer there,” he blurted on Facebook, wanting us to know what he truly felt about being back to the hectic life and the daily grind that sucks most of the time.

Another friend of his noticed the escapism attitude in the complaint, criticizing:”So yoga is your way to flee the reality?”

That, however, did stun me in someway as well. There is a point, or some, in our life when things really don’t go the way we want. And if you’re a yogi/ni or familiar with yoga practice, yoga may help alleviate all or most or some of the pain.

I totally can relate to my friend’s complaint. Yoga — as far as I’m concerned — enables me to rest from the binding monotonous routines, study our Self more profoundly, solemnly, without any unnecessary external intervention. ‎Yoga provides me arare opportunities to be on my own, be my own master. I feel free, unchained, uncontrolled, let go by the norms and demands of the society and authority. What a sanctuary!

So when a yoga class is over, I suddenly turn miserable and forlorn again. ‎What’s wrong with this feeling and mind?

‎What Swami Satchidananda states indeed opens my eyes that what I feel after yoga classes is somewhat similar to what my escapist friend felt after his glorious yoga retreat.

Can we enjoy everything we go through in life just like what the Indian thinker suggests?

That, I suppose, is one of the most worth thinking subject matters a yogi/ni can have. ‎That could be our lifelong homework, too.

Leave a comment

Filed under health, yoga

Leave a Reply

