Jakartans Now can Access Digital Library via Smartphone App

Jakarta is getting smarter and smarter, apparently. Thanks to our shrewd and way more tech-savvy governor, now everyone with an Android handset can access a digital library owned by the government of Jakarta. A free iOS app will soon be on App Store, too.

I happened to find this app at Indonesia International Book Fair 2015 yesterday but I couldn’t give it a try as I have no Android phone. And this app is not avaliable on my iPhone.

So I also signed up for a membership of Jakarta Public Library for the sake of curiosity. A public library is located just near where I stay so this could be a good opportunity to try it out.

Too bad I need to obtain a letter stating I work here for a certain company as I don’t have permanent residential status‎ of Jakarta yet. The staffer on duty, however, was kind enough to let me have the membership card and borrow so long as I can prove I work here formally.

Leave a comment

Filed under technology

Leave a Reply

